APEX Awards

In 1994, AGC Houston created the Awards for Project Excellence (APEX) to honor firms in our industry for their excellence in constructing. The biennial event recognizes member companies for their consistent excellence in construction, their valuable contributions to the community, and their demonstrated commitment to skill, integrity and responsibility. 

2020 APEX Awards

Award Program Details

Thank you to all our members who submitted project entries!

The submissions will be judged in July and we will announce to each company if projects have placed for an award. Look for information soon about the APEX gala in September!

Winners will be announced at the APEX Gala on September 19, 2020 at the Houstonian Hotel. 

Master Builder Awards

The AGC Houston "Master Builder" award is presented biennially at the APEX gala. The honor recognizes an individual or organization for their contributions and commitment to advance the commercial built environment in the greater Houston area.
The term "Master Builder" comes from early construction history. It was a title of the highest respect, reserved for individuals involved int he design and construction of structures that enhance the community.

AGC Houston will honor John Kirksey, Chairman and founder of Kirksey Architects as the 2020 Master Builder Award recipient at the APEX Gala on September 19, 2020.

Recipients include:
1994 S.I. Morris, FAIA, Morris Architects
1996 Walter P. Moore, Jr. Ph.D., Walter P Moore
1998 Robert C. Lanier, Houston Mayor 1992-98
2000 Harris County Sports Authority
2002 Dr. Richard E. Wainerdi, Texas Medical Center
2004 Patrick J. Kiley, AGC Houston
2006 Archbishop Emeritus Joseph A. Fiorenza, Houston-Galveston Diocese
2008 Ed Wulfe, Wulfe & Co., Inc.
2012 William A. Daigneau, The University of Texas M.D. Anderson Cancer Center
2014 Leo Linbeck, Jr., Linbeck Group, LLC
2016 Paul G. Bell, P.G. Bell Company
2018 Peter Dawson, Texas Children's Hospital

Become a Member/Find a Member

When you join a local AGC Chapter, you become a member of the national organization. Being active at both the local and national level is the best way to maximize your membership. Visit our membership page  for more information.